MAISON DES ARTS
OBJECT ARTISTIC CENTER
LOCATION CHAUSSEE DE HAECHT 147 – 1030 SCHAERBEEK
CLIENT COMMUNE DE SCHAERBEEK
PARTNERS KIK - IRPA / L. DE CLERCQ / J. VANDERMEERSCH / J. HOSTE
The former mansion or ‘château’ of the Eenens-Terlinden family, built by J.B. Muynendonck in 1826 and extended in 1865-67 and 1885-90, was acquired by the city administration in 1950 in order to establish an artistic centre (‘Maison des Arts’). The building was listed as a monument in 1993.
The premises include a porte cochère (carriage gate) leading to a paved courtyard, two annexes (garage buildings and a small café, l’Estaminet) as well as an elaborate Neoclassical (public) park.
Interior restoration work by ARTER is scheduled to begin in 2017 and will focus on the main drawing rooms: Salon Rouge (Louis XV), Salon Vert (Louis XVI), Salle-à-Manger (Flemish Neo-Renaissance) and Bibliothèque (Eclecticism). The project will also include restoration work on wooden wall panelling and flooring, marble chimneys breasts, interior stucco and painted walls and ceilings. The 19th-century tapestry wall hangings will be restored by specialist craftsmen.
© 2018 by ÁRTER Architects
The contents contained in this website are copyright protected.
No person may download, duplicate, reproduce, edit or publish any content contained in whole or in part without prior written permission of ÁRTER Architects.